Welcome!

Hello!  I’m Pete, and this is my first post on my first blog!  I started this blog because I enjoy writing, and I hope to share essays and ideas that have more “longitude” than are typical on other social media.  Anyone who visits longitudes is a friend.  So if you like my post, feel free to comment!  Hopefully I can get enough folks to “drop in for coffee” to make it interesting.  I’m a baby boomer, so a lot of my topics (but not all) will be related to boomerism (is that a word?).  Some of the things I hope to discuss include music, film, books, history, outdoors, current events…. and Natalie Wood’s eyes.

I have some additional pages you may want to check out, located in the menu above.   If you’d like to know a bit about my biography, click the ABOUT ME page (also known as the “Den of Narcissism”).

If you’d like to learn about my freelance writing, click BLUBBER BOOK.  Here I have information and links on my first book: Bluejackets in the Blubber Room: A Biography of the WILLIAM BADGER, 1828-1865 (University of Alabama Press).

Lastly, a nod to the blog www.graciesautism.com, which I used as a model for longitudes.  This well-run blog has a more important purpose than mine, so if you’d like to help, please check it out.

Make yourself comfortable, and thanks for visiting!!!

7 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. Peter, welcome to the world of blogging! And thanks so much for giving a nod to my blog for Gracie. I will be telling others about your blog to return the favor.

    Best regards,

    Dennis

  2. Hi Pete. I came across your post on Flight 19. You have some great info there. I’m putting together a children’s book on the Bermuda Triangle and surrounding mysteries. I’m trying to find a good photo of Lieutenant Charles Carroll Taylor and saw you had a great one. Where did you get this? I am hoping to get the rights to include this in the book. Let me know, Thanks – Derek Brown dbrown@amicuspublishing.us

Leave a Reply

